2016/10/08 | Exhibition / Informations about the prize-winners and their projects


For the first time in the foundation's history informations about the nominated architects – DVVT (Gent), Kempe Thill (Rotterdam) and Rozana Montiel / Estudio de Arquitectura (Mexico) – and their work will be exhibited. Also the already chosen winner of the theory prize Doug Saunders will be presented.

Architekturschaufenster Karlsruhe, Waldstraße 8, 76133 Karlsruhe
3 November, 19:00: Vernissage
Exhibition: until November 25th 2016

2016/05/21 | The Schelling Architecture Award Nominations and the Theory Prize Winner


Save the date: 16. November 2016, 18:OO

This year, the Board of Trustees for the Schelling Architecture Foundation nominated three firms for its architecture prize endowed with € 20.000, all of which will be introducing themselves to the public and the voting board with brief presentations at the official award ceremony on 11/16/2016.

The Board of Trustees issued a statement on the three nominations to explain its selections:


In a time when cities across the world are undergoing extensive reconstruction and seeking out economical solutions for housing and public building projects, André Kempe and Oliver Thill are consistently and single-mindedly creating innovative, poetic, functional, and beautiful structures.  Their buildings express a specific kind of restraint that forms a counter-model to today's highly individualized architecture. With each new project, they prove their instinct for addressing social questions, as well as the relevance of architecture in social life. The Board of Trustees sees the architectural approach and creations built by Kempe Thill as outstanding ambassadors for the most pioneering construction taking place in Europe.


Flemish architects Jan De Vylder, Inge Vinck, and Jo Taillieu have, in just a few years, created a comprehensive oeuvre that questions quite a few supposed certainties about architecture.  The majority of their buildings are located in Ghent, where the office was founded in 2008:  unorthodox and ironic – mostly residential buildings, renovations, and additions, although the firm is increasingly taking on public spaces as well.  Their architecture plays with the expectations of the individual viewer, their perceptual habits, and reinterpreting materials. Unfinished elements in their built architectural works are not left by chance; they are the result of a precise design and construction process which, in the architects’ vision, represent one guiding principle above all else:  remaining open for change and improvisation as long as possible.


Mexican architect Rozana Montiel works with an interdisciplinary team to pursue not only the typical design activities of a young office, but also artistic projects to reinterpret public spaces. They also work to research design options for urban areas with the potential for development and societal problem areas which neither politicians nor professional groups would typically otherwise consider. Montiel combines analytic observation with appealingly direct, concrete design. She uses her critique of the status quo to develop architectural interventions that enter into a natural dialog with users and observers.

The Board of Trustees has already selected the following architect for the prize for architectural theory, endowed with € 10.000:


The Schelling Architecture Foundation is honoring British-Canadian architecture theory prize winner Doug Saunders for one of the new perspectives with which he is researching the causes and conditions for and influences on new areas seeing increased immigration in the western world. He also uses this perspective to develop foundations for urban planning which will, ultimately, decide the success or failure of our cities in the 21st century. He summarizes his observations and intensive research on the topic of immigration in twenty major cities on all continents in his 2011 book ‘Arrival City’ and his 2012 'Mythos Überfremdung.’
Doug Sanders will sit on the voting board on the evening of the event, and will be casting his vote as well.

The presentations by the nominated firms and the award ceremony will take place on:

November 16th, 2016 at 6 PM
at KIT / Fakultät für Architektur
Englerstraße 11
76131 Karlsruhe

The Schelling Architecture Foundation, founded by Trude Schelling-Karrer and Heinrich Klotz in 1992, is an independent cultural foundation which awards the prizes every two years. An alternating, independent voting board selects the nominees and prize winners.  The curators are Peter  Cachola-Schmal, Christiane Fath, Louisa  Hutton, Dietmar Steiner, Wilfried Wang, Ludwig Wappner.

2016/03/31 | The Schelling Architecture Foundation deeply mourns the loss of Zaha Hadid (1950-2016)

zaha hadid schelling

With her early work Zaha Hadid ideally suited the goals of the Schelling Foundation: to promise an irrepressable vision of a future architecture. While its realization only took place much later after she received the Schelling Architecture Award in 1994, this vision became increasingly assured with each building. Her career began with the Fire Station in Weil am Rhein, and with the Science Center in Wolfsburg Zaha Hadid and her office set a sign for a jump in scale. Leaving behind the flowing spaces and forms of the small projects, Zaha Hadid turned to cultural buildings and urban design. She was able to realize her visions in Cincinnati, Rome and Guangzhou, to name but a few cities in which she built, always controversially discussed and received.

Publically she appeared like a diva; privately she was a genuine and urbane person. Her rise to fame, at first generously supported by sponsors such as Alvin Boyarsky, the then director of the Architectural Association School of Architecture in London, where she taught, was hard fought. With her early competition designs, reminiscent of the Russian Constructivists, she was derided as a paper architect. She unswervingly absorbed the skills of construction and mastered it according to her worldview. She meticulously pursued design processes and their translation into structures and details. Zaha Hadid created a multipolar, dynamic architecture fitting for a globalized civilization; and with it, she transcended stuffy provincialism, straight-laced postmodernism, feel-good reconstructionitis, banal corporate development and saturated neo-Biedermeier.

A pioneer in the social and spatial sense of Erich Mendelsohn, Antonio Sant’Elia and Hans Scharoun has departed from us much too early.

2016/01/14 | Alejandro Aravena is the winner of the Pritzker Prize


Alejandro Aravena – awarded a Schelling Architecture Medal in 2006 – has been named as the winner of the 2016 Pritzker Prize. Highlighting his dedication to improve urban environments and to address the global housing crisis, the Pritzker Prize jury praised the way in which the Chilean architect has „risen to the demands of practicing architecture as an artful endeavor, as well as meeting today's social and economic challenges.“

The Schelling Architecture Foundation congratulates him sincerely and wishes him all the best for his future career!

2014/11/13 | Schelling Architecture Award 2014: The decision has been made


After short lectures of the nominated architects Anna Heringer,  Carla Juaçaba and Diébédo Francis Kéré in the evening of november 12th,  the jury decided.
The Schelling Foundation is pleased to inform:

The winner is: Diébédo Francis Kéré.


Copyright: Schelling Architecture Foundation | Wilfried Dechau

The Laudatio from Wilfried Wang > here


Juhani Pallasmaa is already known as winner of the award for architectural theory.

Copyright: Schelling Architecture Foundation | Wilfried Dechau

The Laudatio from Louisa Hutton to Juhani Pallasmaa > here