Recipients 2000


Schelling Architecture Prize 2000
Kazuyo Sejima

“The poetry of things can be found at any scale an may be designed anew at any time.”

Kazujo Sejima already come to notice with her early buildings, which not only demonstrate an elegant formal composition and material assembly but also a thorough independent design approach. The Japanese architect starts from an abstract description of functional relationships, for which the respective building is intended, transposes this into a spatial diagram and transforms this diagram into architecture. The resulting buildings are as unusual as they are memorable, seemingly transcending any traditional typology, however, remaining closely related to their function.
In this manner, Kazujo Sejima picks up the modernist thread, whose premises and ambitions she nevertheless interprets in an unorthodox and contemporary way. Distinct from her teacher Toyo Ito and most of his generation, she is not concerned with the exaggerated representation of the fleeting character of our times, but, on the contrary, with a contemplative deceleration – devoid of any nostalgia. Vittorio Magnago Lampugnani

>>> Sanaa

Schelling Architectural Theory Prize 2000
Martin Steinmann

“The significance of the built fact has many layers, which we should be able to read.”

For four decades now, Martin Steinman has been engaged at almost all levels of architecture: research, education, publications and practice. Above all, Steinmann has dealt with the conditions under which buildings come into being. In connection with his research and parallel to the foundation of the CIAM-Archive at the ETH-Zurich he developed his position on the continuation of modernism. By means of his editorships of the journals Archithese and Steinmann influenced architecture over a period of two decades not only in Switzerland. His ambition, that contemporary architecture has to be created in the public interest under the confluence of tradition and rules, has established high intellectual standards for himself as well as for his colleagues. Wilfried Wang